Louisiana DUI/DWI/OWI First Offense

Some people believe that if they are charged with a crime, they should be shown leniency if they do not have a history of committing criminal offenses.Depending on the crime, some offenders may be able to get off with a slap on the wrist and probation; however, this is not the case for those accused of operating while impaired (OWI) in Louisiana. Even if you have never broken the law before, you could be required to spend time behind bars and lose your license if convicted of drunk driving–that’s why it’s so important to obtain the representation of an OWI defense lawyer for a first offense.

A jail sentence may be suspended altogether if you perform 48 hours of community service and complete substance abuse and driver improvement programs.

Enhanced Penalties

Drivers with an excessively high blood alcohol content (BAC) may be subject to increased penalties. If your BAC was .15% or higher at the time you were behind the wheel, you will incur a mandatory two-day jail sentence. For a BAC of .2% or higher, you could lose your license for two years and face fines ranging from $750-$1,000.

Contact A Lafayette OWI Defense Lawyer

As you can see, the penalties for even a first drunk-driving offense in Louisiana have the potential to impact your life. Fortunately, having an attorney on your side can improve your odds of a favorable resolution. Thanks to his experience with defending OWI cases, Attorney J. Bradley Cockrell has helped a number of clients get their charges reduced to a lesser offense, dismissed, or acquitted.

To schedule a free consultation on your pending OWI charge, please contact our law office today.

Free Case Evaluation

Electric Lemonade Logo